Asby Endowed School

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum


At Asby, children in reception will be in Class 1. The children following the foundation stage curriculum are given full access to an exciting range of interesting and exciting learning opportunities. We have a fantastic outdoor learning environment that can be accessed by children in Class 1.


Children follow the foundation stage curriculum which is divided into seven areas of learning, primary areas are:


  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.


All activities are planned and assessed around these areas of learning and focus on children’s individual development and need. We provide opportunities for children to play, learn and develop in a caring atmosphere.